Red Rose Road Runners began their Championship year with the Inskip Half Marathon. Early morning conditions were icy but after road gritting and sterling work from the organisers and the intrepid marshalls the race went ahead with 44 Red Rose competitors. An impressive time of 1.22.32 from Ben Donoghue saw him begin the season well with Duncan Anderson not far behind in 1.24.25. Jose Pinon showed his stamina over this distance with a time of 1.25.28. 59 year old Ken Addison won the V55 prize running 1.26.09 which would have pleased men, half his age. Stuart Cann cracked the 90 minute barrier in 1.29.16 with Michael Rushe impressing with a time of 1.30.08. Phil Davidson was in form with a time of 1.34.01 which beat his previous attempt on this course by about three minutes, Frank Nightingale was on his trail in 1.34.36 followed by John Naylor who improved his PB by 5 minutes running 1.35.36. The greatest improvement must be claimed by Steve Taylor finishing in 1.45.57, a 21 minute improvement over this distance.

Lucy Lodge took the accolade of first Red Rose lady with her time of 1.49.52 with Anneke Crosby producing a PB to be in touching distance at the line with a time of 1.49.59.Margaret Lupton signalled her return after a knee operation to be next in with a time of 1.51.35. Julie Thorley ran well for 1.52.05 whilst more PB’s were just reward for Martin Simpson in 1.53.41 and Debbie Porter in 1.53.48. More milestones were reached with Sinead Sweeney 2.08.53 and Helen Greenhalgh 2.12.26 both completing their first half marathon. Excellent efforts also came from Simon Kirkman improving his time by 3 minutes in a time of 2.09.06 and Ramona Mulligan knocking 9 minutes off her existing time to finish in 2.47.53.

 Aspecial mention has been requested  for Anees Shaik, Carol Heaton and her sister Judi  who turned up as a complete surprise to support us all and take pictures. It was absolutely freezing so was much appreciated by all, hence all the smiling in the photographs!!

Other results: Mark Billington 1.31.52, Dave Brunton 1.32.30, Doug Brydon 1.37.16, Dave Hooton 1.40.03, Paul Woan 1.42.39, Dave Raynor 1.42.41, Neil Whatton 1.44.09, Peter O’Grady 1.48.35, Lee Mangan 1.49.32, Jonathan Butterworth 1.51.08, Steve Murphy 1.52.58, Keith Burrows 1.53.25, Michael Coupland 1.55.26, Andy Speer 1.55.28, Richard Lodge 1.55.55, Steve Worswick 1.56.41, Joanne Malcolmson 1.56.52, Jenny Fairclough 2.04.22, James Robinson 2.10.12, Wendy Ward 2.24.50, Helen Orson 2.24.51, Colin Manning 2.37.02, William Sumner 2.40.19, Ann Donoghue 2.40.21.