The latest round of the Red Rose Road Runners Grand Prix was at Bendrigg for their 10K race over an undulating course with a tough final climb to the finish, helpfully signed as Heartbreak Hill for the race!

15 runners from the club completed the race and once again the club went home with several awards. A superb run by John Shepherd, 37.27, was good for 3rd overall and must surely mean that on a flatter course he will be setting a new pb. Claire Bunce was once again 1st Lady and is now getting used to the winning feeling. She was 18th overall in a time of 41.58. Bernard Elkington was the 1st V75 in 80th place with a time of 58.53.

The 2 team prizes were won by the club. The open team was won by John Shepherd, Ken Addison (11th 40.05) and Shane Cliffe (14th 40.39) while the veteran team award and the Ray Laverick Memorial Trophy, was won by those 3 runners plus Jose Pinon Shaw (15th 40.46).

The other club runners to complete the course were, club chairman, Phil Butler (17th 41.43), Barry Wheeler (23rd 43.15), Philip Davidson (24th 43.31), Anthony Thorley (41st 47.32), Paula Plowman (59th 50.53), Julie Thorley ( 64th 51.59), Gavin Beetham (72nd 55.01), Sally Cape (76th 56.21) and Adele Nuttall (82nd 61.29).

The fast improving Ben Donoghue, and current favourite to win the Grand Prix, dropped out of the race with injury.