28 Red Rose Road Runners braved the December elements to compete in the Garstang 10 mile race on Sunday 4th December, the race being the final leg of the clubs 2011 championship.

On a cold and showery morning a field of 321 completed the 10 miles with Ben Fish of Blackburn Harriers winning in 50.46.

For the RRRR Ken Addison was 1st home in 30th place and 2nd V55 in 63.36. He was followed by John Shepherd 35th and 4th V45 in 64.12.

Phil Butler and Shane Cliffe came in 6 seconds apart with Cliffe recovering from injury almost catching Butler in the closing stages as he pushed on. Their scores were 57th 68.06 and 60th 68.12, 3rd and 4th for the Red Rosers.

Further down the field there were some close battles Dave Hooton 100th and Claire Bunce, 1st Red Rose lady, making a huge PB, 101st just 4 seconds back, Hooton recording 72.05 and Claire 72.09.

Tony Thorley and Stuart Cann could only be separated by 14 seconds at the finish 106th and 108th 72.34 and 72.38 respectively.

Emphasising the friendly nature of the club, perhaps, we had 4 husband and wife teams running. Tony, already mentioned, wife Julie 204th 84.01, Yvonne and Roger Johnson 223rd and 254th 85.49 and 91.07, Evelyn and Bernard Elkington 280th and 286th 96.51 and 97.39, and Karen and Chris Clark 312th and 313th 104.24 and 104.25.

Also running were recent new member Jose Pinon Shaw breaking the 70 minute barrier, always a good achievement with 69.39 for 73rd place, Peter Cowling 83rd 70.13, Barry Wheeler in the top hundred with 95th 71.22, our second lady Debbie Kirkman 137th 75.38, Claire Smith 145th 76.29, Richard Ward 160th 77.45, Paula Plowman 178th 80.01, Carol Douglass 197th 82.55, Keith Burrows 214th 85.29, Vivienne Sherry 223rd 86.34, Christina Wright 230th 87.24, George Fletcher 250th 90.20, and Allan Howard 272nd 93.24.

Meanwhile in Northern Ireland, Joe Swarbrick took part in the recently re established Lisbellaw 10K  ( What do you mean you’ve never heard of it). Running in wintry conditions on a tough scenic route, came second in a field of just 60 runners in a time of 39.30.